homemade spaghetti with meat sauce

one thing you should NEVER buy in a jar? SPAGHETTI SAUCE. ok, i have a couple jars in my cabinet, but i got them for almost free with coupons and i use them for pizza dips and last-minute homemade pizza.

It’s just SOOOOO easy to make. Lately I have been making more of a meat sauce than marinara per se. i’m not gonna give you an exact recipe because it’s easy to change it up depending on the ingredients available and moods.

I saute about half a green pepper diced with a splash of olive oil and a minced clove of garlic.(i grate mine on a microplane and i SWEAR i was doing that before Rachel Ray. I think she saw one of my blogs). Before the garlic burns add your ground beef. i used to use a pound and it was more of a thin tomato sauce, but since i’m digging a meaty sauce now i just about double it. So, lb and half or more of ground beef. Salt and pepper your meat as it cooks. Drain if greasy and then it’s time to add your tomatoes. This you can just play by ear. Last night I made a batch and I used a Large(28oz) can of whole tomatoes and pulsed them in a blender. Then I added 2(14oz) cans of petite diced tomatoes(left as is). I used to always add paste as well, but i’ve been leaving that out and I like it better. A splash of sugar helps too! Then I just leave it on low heat until its time to eat. Serve on angel hair or thin spaghetti which is what i grew up on. I might buy regular spaghetti just to be a rebel…

October 28, 2009. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Judith replied:

    Yummy!
    Then there’s herbs to add ……. or some bits of onion or a few mushrooms to saute up with this …… it’s nice to know it can be different every time you make it. I look for good sales on diced tomatoes and either whole or crushed ………. it’s fast, easy, and cheap. And MUCH better than jarred sauces.
    Thanks for the tip on microplaning the garlic; I’ll try that tonight.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

